Purchases – Check in

So for the month of January I’ve already spent around $200 on purchases.  However I’ve created a new budget item called Business Services.  I’ve recently started trying to sell some of my crochet items on Etsy.  I’ve actually sold one thing.  However I had to create a budget for fees and supplies for this endeavor.  So I set up a budget of $100 per month.

Yes I’ve already blown it for this month.

But I have a good reason.  My sister works for someone who needed some new logo apparel for their business.  And I offered to try to come up with a new logo and use my embroidery machine to do up some shirts and sweatshirts.  So I needed supplies for this.  However, I’ve learned even more about the cost of being cluttered.  I didn’t take inventory of what I already had.  After I purchased things from Joann’s and Amazon, I found that I already had some of the things that I thought I would need.  So I now have some duplicates.  However I’m chalking that up to a learning experience as well and am getting myself more organized so this doesn’t happen again.

Additional purchases were made for our “Go-Bags”. Some call these “Bug-Out” bags.  These are some first aid and food kits that we put together a while back in case of emergency at our home or even if we had to evacuate.  I thought the items needed to be refreshed.  We put these together about 5 years ago.  I couldn’t believe when I saw the expiration date on the first aid stuff that it had been that long.  So I had to do some  unexpected purchases of stuff for those.  Then my mother and I tested some of the MRE’s to see if they were going to work for us. We were curious how bad they would be.  They actually weren’t bad. We both agreed that we could live on them.  However, there was one that tasted so bad we each only gave one taste and threw it away.  It was an Indian dish. Muttar something.  It was bad.  And I like Indian food.  This tasted… not like Indian food.  So we took those out of the bags and made sure we had some good ones.  The vegetable stew with beef was very tasty.  Then there was some shredded potatoes with bacon that were yummy.  So I reorganized those and they are back in our closet.  However I just received the first aid items that I need to load into the kits, so they’ll have to come out one more time.

Other than that there haven’t been any purchases. (There were a few that were left overs from last month.  Hautelook items sometimes don’t ship for a month or two, so even though I purchased them last month, they reflect on this month’s budget.) I’ve controlled myself well.  I’ve been putting things on my wishlist on Amazon, to revisit at another time and see if I still want them.  I also went through my wishlist and cleaned it up.  There was a lot that were old wishlist items that just weren’t needed anymore.

Another thing helping my budget is the lower gas prices in the St. Louis area.  This has caused my gas budget to go from $120 per month to $80.  And even that is high I think.

Plans for next month – One thing I really want to get purchased with next month’s budget is a Go Bag for work.  I work at a location that if something were to happen, I’d like to be prepared.  So I have plans to go to our local military surplus store and get a bag together.  I have the list of everything I need ready.

So this is a long post but I wanted to show my progress.  I feel like I’ve made some progress.

