Drugs and Death

I just read a really accurate artcile about Drugs.  The part that got me was the title –

Aaron Sorkin: Drugs not ‘overdose’ killed Philip Seymour Hoffman

I thought to my self – what is that crazy ‘shroom eater saying now.  But it wasn’t that at all.  He stated a very good point about how we say things can give the wrong impression to others.

“We should stop implying that if he’d just taken the proper amount then everything would have been fine…He didn’t die because he was partying too hard or because he was depressed – he died because he was an addict on a day of the week with a y in it.” (quoted from article linked above. Source bbc.com/news)

I‘ve noticed in reading, and my own writing, the tendency to put things into a Passive sentence structure. When I was in school I couldn’t understand what they (the teachers) meant when we were learning about these.  But now I find myself doing this daily.  We use this structure to shift blame. “The computer was broken” as compared to “John broke the computer”.  It makes us feel better to be passive, not blaming, not accusing someone, even ourselves.

We all have a responsibility to make sure we are doing the right thing. The amount of drugs he took didn’t kill him.  The act of him taking drugs did.

