Monday Makeup! ELF Hypershine Lip Gloss Review

I love ELF Makeup.  Its cheap and pretty good quality.  I’m sure you can buy the name brand stuff (I’m lookin’ at you MAC and Urban Decay) and get better quality but I’m sorry I’m not spending that much for my face.  My face isn’t going to look that much better with a $50 to $100 product than it does with a $10 or even a $1 product.

ELF Hypershine Lip Gloss

ELF Hypershine Lip Gloss in Berry Cherry

ELF Hypershine Lip Gloss in Berry Cherry

This is my favorite lip gloss right now.  The color shown to the left is Berry Cherry and, on my lips isn’t quite as pigmented as the picture would suggest.  But its still pretty.  And each tube of gloss is only $1.  So if you don’t like the color – you’re only out $1!

The texture is not nasty, lip gloss sticky.  For example, I got a sample box of Ulta cosmetics and it had a clear ultra shiny lip gloss – OMG it was horrible!  It was like someone took glue and put it on my lips.  Even after I took it off it still felt sticky.  ELF Hypershine on the other hand, is pleasant to have on your lips.  If you do want to wipe it off, to eat or whatever, it comes off cleanly and with no residue that I would describe sticky.

The applicator is a brush which the gloss comes out of when you twist the clicky deal at the bottom.  Not my preferred method of having lip gloss come out but this is done well.  It doesn’t glop out.  Each click puts out just a little.  In fact to do my whole lips takes about 6 – 7 clicks.  I think it works best to do several clicks at once and then the gloss starts to come out and you can see it between the bristles of the brush.  Then dab it around your lips and then use the brush to spread it around.

The gloss does have a slight smell but I like it. Its a sweet smell, maybe like a cupcake? I don’t really know how to describe it but it doesn’t overpower me at all, and I’m very sensitive to smells.

As far as lasting time goes – I think it lasts well. Sometimes I forget I’m wearing it because it feels so light on the lips.  And it stays shiny the whole time – it doesn’t get dull and just have color on the lips – its full on shiny.

I haven’t tried any other colors and this one looked like the darkest on the site. However, I’m going to be buying more very soon.

***Note: I don’t dislike Ulta makeup – I have an eye shadow duo from them that I really like. I haven’t tried much else yet.  After all I’m still new at this makeup thing.

