One of “those” days…

Ever have a day when you’re so overwhelmed you sit at your desk for the last 4 hours of the day and just do nothing? Not really nothing… just anything but work.

Or have you ever had a day where the project you have to get done, doesn’t? Not because you didn’t work on it. Rather you worked on it for 15 minutes in every hour of they day but then got interrupted at least, if not more, than once an hour by something that is absolutely more important than your project.

The world is burning and you’re project is to find out how to stop it – but you keep getting interrupted by the little fires starting to eat away at your building which you legitimately have to stop now, but these little things keep interrupting your work on the big picture.

For me, this happens every day. Its frustrating. I think its what makes me so crabby in the evenings.  I think it causes road rage as well.  However I’ve come up with a way to work with it.

My most successful way to focus, I’ve found is to estimate an amount of time that I think I can get a specific task completed. Sit there for that amount of time, close my email, put my phone on do not disturb, and do it.  If I get a little longer than that allotted time, I let myself. But I have to complete that task.

Then I choose my next task and how long it will take. And I do it again.

This also makes my time sheet easier. I have to account for all my time spent in a day, what project I spent time on, what customer I worked with.

