What I’m saving for (right now)

I love arts and crafts – I have yarn and embroidery thread and scrapbook paper out the wazoo.

Here’s my new desire.

http://www.babylock.com/embroidery/ellure/

Image

I went to a local vacuum and sewing machine repair store (shout out to Fenton Sew and Vac!) and the sales lady gave me such a demo that I was hooked.  Of course the price made me choke a little. But they have in store classes and full support services and a package deal that really makes me drool a little.

As opposed to a comparableBrother model, the Ellure is a sewing and embroidery machine. The package deal includes a starter kit of full spools in a variety of colors, an assortment of stabilizers, and digitizing software.

I’m planning on monogramming and putting designs on towels, and pillow cases, and all sort’s of stuff.  I want to sell some of the things I make. We have a table at the Belleville Flea Market every month and I thought I could try to add a few items there and see if they sell.  I’m also thinking about Etsy.  I’ve also wanted to make wedding gifts before but usually don’t because I don’t have the time to actually sit down and do nothing but embroider.

Even though the shop offers free 0% financing for 24 months, I’m scared to just go out and purchase it and then not use it and regret it.  So I’m saving up. Not only will this give me the time to really consider if I’ll consistently use the machine, but it will also let me see if this desire dies out.  I get a lot of half brained ideas. A lot of buy it now and start a business ideas that never pan out, too.  So heres my saving schedule that I’ve figured out.

Out of each paycheck I already save $150 automatically (setup as an auto transfer through my bank) to my savings account.  Before I can buy the machine I decided I have to get $1000 in my account to give me a cushion in case of emergency (car, house, health, etc.) after that first $1000, everything on top is for my machine.

So I have $754 as of today.  If I keep saving $150 per pacheck I’ll have $3454 by the end of  August 2013.

However, if I start saving $250 per paycheck, I’ll have what I need by the first week of July 2013.  Seems like a significant improvement to me.

So I upped my auto transfer today to $250.  Lets see how it goes!

**Update** Inserted better link for the Belleville Flea Market.

